Getting Emotional!… World Cup Quarterfinals :0

Hello there!!

wallpapers-do-fuleco-copa-do-mundo-2014 (3)

How is your World Cup going?… Mine is a bit too emotional

We are in quarterfinals!! Yeyyy, mix emotions, first this is the stage when things gets  better and more nerve-racking than the round of 16, but also the feeling that this will be over soon starts to grow… Nooooo.

We had two days without World Cup, and I couldn’t remember what I used to watch before started, and you got that emptiness feeling… I know I am so dramatic but it’s all good, every four years I can be as dramatic as I want to, it’s the fricking World Cup! 😉

So yes, my prediction skills are not that accurate haha I kind of suck at it, but hey some teams were a complete surprise!

Thanks you Spain, Italy and Portugal for ruin my predictions, but I was happy that the USA messed up with what I have thought, yeah I didn’t see them coming alive of that group but good that they did, it didn’t last that long though but it was fun for sure!!

And of course I am more than happy that Costa Rica was beyond all predictions, they redefine the phrase “Anything can happen” and I couldn’t be more happy for them! Central America love

Yes I didn’t learn the lesson, it’s so much fun to make predictions, think about possibilities and get them right or realizing that you were completely wrong!

Since the Internet is open and free I will give you my Quarterfinals predictions!!

Today’s matches:

The European clasico, I think France have looked more steady, some good matches, a bit of struggle vs Nigeria in RD of 16 but nothing major, on the other hand, I think Germany is always a favorite, but as usual they started great and then it was more like going downhill, but they are Germany, last match vs Algeria oh boy they suffered much more than expected and were close to say good-bye, but after that if they don’t come up with full determination and game they are going to make me look bad haha. Only because I think they cannot play worst than their last match I will give them the lead in this Europe head to head!

pred, germany vs france

 

Later today it’s a South America Samba vs Cumbia, let’s see who will have the last dance.  We all saw the incredible pressure on the Brazilian team, they were so close to be out of this World Cup vs Chile, those penalties were a manicure in the making, I felt bad for them and their tears, the tension and pressure of being the host team and five time World Champions is kind of too much, but it is what it is I guess. They haven’t shown much game, but to be honest the Jogo Bonito was gone long time ago, I’ve been listened to the same complain since like two or something World Cups ago, I do agree that this team aside from Neymar don’t have anyone else that can step up, like other Brazilian teams had in the past. Anyhow I still believe that now it’s a matter of just get the result that’s why I give them the win. But I wouldn’t be surprise if Colombia knock them out :0, they have played the best football, very entertaining, happy and proposing in attack, I really like how they have played so far, I guess they have nothing to lose and all to win so, they might.  I will be happy to see them dance again, by far best celebration!!

As you can see my heart is a bit divided, I don’t know, it will be heartbreaking to see Brazil with all that have happened previous to the tournament and the whole country expecting them to advance, and not making it to the final, that would be hard to watch. But you have Colombia and they WC journey have been a fun and full of hope and football… Even though I picked Brazil, I will leave this to the Football gods hehe

pred, brazil vs colombia

 

Tomorrow we will have the second part of the Quarterfinals!

Argentina have been Messi and that’s it. They wouldn’t be in this stage if it wasn’t for him, they have a very good team but they have not shown what they can do, their last match was also bordering the drama, until Di Maria who I think aside from Messi is the one that has tried at least to do something in this tournament, the rest very intermittent. But they should advance, Belgium is not easy if you don’t agree ask Tim Howard and his 16  saves, they tried vs the USA and they couldn’t open the score as many times as they tried, but definitely there is a lot of potential and young and talented players, so this should be an interesting match.

pred, argentina vs belgium

 

Last match is The Netherlands vs Costa Rica, this is kind of David vs Goliath, The super Orange team, playing not their usual style but a more fast and result oriented one, taking advantage of the speed and talent of their best men on the pitch, Robben, Van Persie and Sneijder. Although is fair to say that Robben can add professional actor to his talents and resume, my God, it’s like if he is really trying to win the fricking Oscar or something, I won’t even talk much, I think he takes away the beauty if this sport with those actions when he doesn’t need them, he is very good and one of the best player we have seen. The team suffered a lot with Mexico, but in theory they should go through.

I would be sooooo soooo happy if Costa Rica can pull this one off, come on Ticos, Pura Vida! I have faith that they would be the surprise of this World Cup, I mean they are not matter what happen in this match, they are by far one of the best stories in this World Cup, and one of the most inspiring, but it would be so nice to see them advancing to SEMIFINALS! Big deal people, big deal :0 !!!

I know I messed up the Quaterfinal thing in the chart below it should read Quarterfinals,  I blame my emotional connection to this match hahaha

pred, costa vs holland

 

That’s how things are set up in this quarterfinals, I am nervous I won’t lie, I have many picks in this quarters that my heart is all over the place… I think the only easy one for my heart is Argentina- Belgium, sorry Belgium but this are things of the heart 🙂

Thank you for reading! I hope you have made your picks and good luck!! Let the nail biting begins hahaha

If you want to share your predictions or picks feel free to do it, we can compare or discuss opinions, or things of the heart ;)… Enjoy this matches and moments because we are getting close to the final oiii.

emotion

Besitos!

Pictures, I made them in Photoshop (not a master piece but hey they do the job!), I use the icons from http://flagspictures.org, gif from Google I don’t know who own it.

 

Leave a comment